applications are scary

October 14, 2010

so, still here in new glasgow with no access to studio space. i know, wah wah wah. anyway, i’ve decided to spend a little time doing research into other better residencies for the future. ones where i don’t have to stress out about whether or not i have a kiln. so far, i’ve managed to get an application together for sturt, a contemporary craft and design centre in australia. i find it very daunting to write about my work and try to explain what it is i want/ am trying to do. here’s what i wrote as a proposal. please feel free to give feedback.

 

Mark Viner October 14, 2010

Head of Strut

PO Box 34

Mittagong NSW 2575

Australia

 

I find the richness of earthenware to be the most seductive means of expressing myself through clay. With pliable slabs of this beautiful chocolate porcelain, I use templates to create functional table ware, folding and bending the clay as you would a piece of paper. Carrying on the paper reference in my surface treatment, I use a variety of methods to draw on these objects, such as photocopy transfers, underglaze pencils and overglazes.

I am currently interested in exploring the use of pattern in surface decoration and feel that participating in a residency atmosphere where textile, basketry, and jewelry makers are also present would be very conducive to pattern observation and investigation. Wood firing earthenware is also something that I look forward to undertaking.

While at Sturt, facilitating workshops in handbuilding and surface decoration would be of great interest to me. Sharing knowledge with participants would be an inspiring means of furthering my own understanding of my art practice.

A residency at Sturt would be a great benefit in developing my artistic goals. If chosen, I would demonstrate a high level of enthusiasm and commitment to this program and would prefer to begin October 2011. I look forward to hearing from you.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

 

Alana Wilson

 

One Response to “applications are scary”

  1. Brenda said

    Looks & sounds good to me. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

