Sturt – most recent

November 24, 2011

Hmmm… what to say. Self explanatory, I hope.

4 Responses to “Sturt – most recent”

  1. cavinginn said

    These are gorgeous! I do hand building too and I find it hard to come up with a good mug design because it’s limiting compared to throwing. Do you use paper clay?

    I also love how the letters are raised. Very interesting.

    • Hey! Thanks!
      I checked out your etsy page and I really like your whale tail spoon:)
      I don’t use paper clay, no. Usually, I use a red earthenware body suitable for throwing, but since I’ve been here, I’ve been using a mid-fire white body. I don’t find hand building limiting at all. I work out patterns on paper first, much like a dressmaker would. I find there are endless combinations of angles and curves and shapes.

  2. cavinginn said

    Thanks for the compliment. We have a lot of whales off the coast of Newfoundland so they’re a real inspiration.

    I work out patterns on paper first too. It gives a good sense of what your piece will turn out like. I more so meant the limiting factor on mug design. Hand building is limitless and I enjoy it very much. I just haven’t come up with a mug design that has striked me I guess. But then again, surface decoration can spice up any design.

    You should try paper clay sometime! It’s all I use and I can’t get away from it. I haven’t had any cracks and its holds very well when hand building.

    Love your blog and I will check back for more update.

    Take care!

    Jayn

  3. Alana! Great new work! I have been wondering what sorts of forms have sprung from your Aussie residency. Brilliant mugs, the stamped blue ones and carved are superb- I am also digging the red. Stacking is so important! Cupboard space is of the essence!

Leave a Reply

